Charged with a Second DUI?
Have you been charged with your second DUI? If so, then you have been through the DUI process before and understand how important it is to retain an experienced and capable lawyer for your defense.
We understand that you may be feeling extremely uneasy about the upcoming court process. At Utah Defenders, our defense team is ready to take your case and get to work on your defense. A First Driving Under the Influence Offense is one thing, a second one carries with it harsh minimum mandatory sentencing guidelines and unique challenges from the prosecution. Our office is fully capable of taking on these challenges head on with aggressive and superior representation. We have some of the highest success rates in the state.
What Are Some of the Penalties for a Second DUI?
If you are charged with a second DUI within 10 years of your first DUI conviction, you are facing serious penalties in Utah including a minimum 10 day jail period and an extended driver’s license suspension. That’s right, you’ll lose your license for two (2) full years. While a second DUI is not charged as a felony, you are still looking at a potential jail sentence for several months and high fines. If you are convicted, other sentences may be imposed including a mandatory interlock device for your vehicle and submitting to alcohol assessment tests.
Salt Lake County has implemented what’s known as the FOCUS program which is an intensive substance abuse program and includes five (5) days of jail and five (5) days of community service. Most courts throughout the state will implement the 10 days of jail required by the statute. More jail time will be awarded depending on the circumstances of the case such as if the driver was involved in an accident or if the driver had a recent DUI or impaired driving conviction.
Utah Defenders – Aggressive Defense Attorneys
When charged with a second DUI, you may be up against an extremely aggressive prosecutor. Many of them feel like they are doing holy work by prosecuting drunk drivers and that frame of mind influences them to act sometimes overly harsh. When you are the defendant, all of the resources of the state are lined up against you. At Utah Defenders, we help to level the field by aggressively taking on your defense. Our Utah DUI Lawyers will work hard on your behalf and zealously defend you against such charges.
Call us today, get some peace of mind.
Get all of your questions answered today. Call us now and schedule a free consultation. Call anytime, our attorneys are standing by. you can also contact us by clicking here or by filling out our contact form. Get some peace of mind today. Your DUI charge does not have to take over your life. We can help. 801.618.1334.